Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU)

Jawaharlal Nehru University is the foremost university in India, and a world-renowned centre for teaching and research located in New Delhi, India. JNU was established in 1969 and named after Jawaharlal Nehru, India’s first Prime Minister. The university is  known for leading faculties and research emphasis on liberal arts and applied sciences, as well as for intense student activism and providing a liberal democratic space for students in India. The educational philosophy of the university gets translated into its somewhat unorthodox academic structure. Grounded in a faith in the unity of knowledge, JNU has sought to avoid the narrowly conceived Department structure of conventional universities, preferring instead to bring allied disciplines within a few broad and inclusive entities called Schools, under whose interactive ambit are placed the more specialized units, called Centres.

Campus: One campus on the Aravali range in New Delhi,

Population: 8082 students

Faculties/Centres: 20 Schools and Centres: School of Arts & Aesthetics, School of Biotechnology,School of Computational and Integrative Sciences,School of Computer and Systems Sciences,School of Engineering,School of Environmental Sciences,School of International Studies,School of Language Literature and Culture Studies,School of Life Sciences,Atal Bihari Vajpayee School of Management and Entrepreneurship,School of Physical Sciences,School of Sanskrit and Indic Studies,School of Social Sciences,Centre for the Study of Law and Governance,Special Centre for Disaster Research,Special Centre for E-Learning,Special Centre for Molecular Medicine,Special Centre for Nanoscience,Special Centre for National Security Studies,Special Centre for the Study of North East India.

Interesting fact: JNU is infused with an intense political life on campus debating on social issues such as feminism, minority rights, social and economic justice. JNU was the first to offer courses in foreign languges in an integrated five year MA programme.