University of Agricultural Sciences Bangalore (UASB)

The University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore (UASB) was established in 1963 and inaugurated by Vice-President of India on August 21, 1964. The UASB aims at generating quality human resources in the area of agriculture and allied disciplines, generate cutting-edge competitive technologies and evolve efficient disseminating mechanism so as to serve the farming community of the State and the Country.


  • Bangalore-560 065, Karnataka, India
  • Mandya-571 405, Mandya District, Karnataka, India
  • Hassan-573 225, Hassan District, Karnataka, India
  • Chintamani-563 125, Chikkaballapur District, Karnataka, India
  • Chamarajnagar-571 127, Karnataka, India

Population: 4355 students

Faculties or centres: A range of new technology oriented six under-graduate degree programmes in Agriculture, Sericulture, Food Science & Technology, Agricultural Marketing & Cooperation, Agricultural Biotechnology and Agricultural Engineering.

Interesting fact: In less than half a century, UAS-B has released over 200 varieties in diverse crops such as cereals, pulses, oilseeds and commercial crops. UASB began as a small agricultural research farm in 1899 on 30 acres of land donated by Her Excellency Maharani Kempa Nanjammanni Vani Vilasa Sannidhiyavaru, the Regent of Mysore, and appointed Dr. Lehmann, German Scientist, to initiate research on soil crop response with a Laboratory in the Directorate of Agriculture.