University of Delhi (DU)

The University of Delhi, informally known as Delhi University, is a collegiate public central university located in New Delhi, India. Founded in 1922 is recognized as an Institute of Eminence (IoE) by the University Grants Commission (UGC). It is a premier university of the country with a venerable legacy and international acclaim for highest academic standards, diverse educational programmes, distinguished faculty, illustrious alumni and varied co-curricular activities.Drawing students and faculty from across India and abroad, the University has emerged as a symbol of excellence, integrity and openness of mansa (thought), vaacha (speech) and karmana (action).

Campus: Two  campuses, North Campus and South Campus. In addition, University of Delhi is planning to build East Campus and West Campus.

Population: 23034 students

Faculties/Centres: 16 faculties (Arts, Applied Social Sciences and Humanities, Commerce and Business, Education, Interdisciplinary and Applied Sciences, Law, Management Studies, Mathematical Sciences, Medical Sciences, Music, Open Learning, Science, Social Sciences, Technology), 86 departments distributed across its campuses, 77 affiliated colleges and five other institutes. Five departments, namely Chemistry, Geology, Zoology, Sociology and History have been awarded the status of the Centres of Advanced Studies.

Interesting fact: The Indraprastha College for Women c is famous for its beautiful campus but surprisingly, it is way beyond important in the history. It is the oldest girls’ college around, and the women who went to IP College during partition helped people take refuge, eat, drink and pass the area safely during those tumultuous times. Delhi University organizes Flower Show every year in the North Campus. This is done with the purpose to promote compassion towards nature. It is open for everyone, including all residents, people from various walks of life and DU students.